The Pines Reserve is a conservation park 7 kms from Kapunda, which combines natural bushland with man-made heritage. It has two defined walking trails of 800 metres and 1.6 kms.
The site includes the former 'Taylor’s Run’ Reservoir, which supplied water to Kapunda via gravitational flow from 1879 to 1957. In seasons with plentiful rainfall, the reservoir is a haven for local birdlife.
Echidna sightings, although not a common occurrence, do occur from time to time – even in broad daylight. Echidna diggings are prevalent – especially near the reservoir”.
The Reserve was also a part of the Forestry Reserve and a site of much of the town’s early social activity with picnics and gatherings for many years.
Points of interest include the recently restored historic Turncock House built in 1879 and the Water Tower. A tunnel, approx. 80 metres in length, still connects the two sites today.
Recent additions of picnic tables, a Shelter Shed and Toilet block make this an enjoyable experience for picnickers, bushwalkers and bird lovers alike.
The Reserve is managed by a small group of active volunteers, with assistance from the Light Regional Council.